Blair Peach Award

gallery © Justin Tallis The National Union of Teachers established the Blair Peach Award (BPA) in March 2010.  The award is named after the past president of East London NUT who was murdered during an anti-racist demonstration in Southall, London on 23 April 1979.

On the day of his death, Blair Peach was showing solidarity and marching against the presence of the far right National Front. Modern day equivalents to the National Front continue to promote racist and fascist views.  It is vital to the National Union of Teachers that they do not gain a foothold in British politics.  That is why we use our political fund to campaign vigorously against racist and fascist parties and support the work of organisations such as HOPE not hate, Unite Against Fascism, Show Racism the Red Card and Kick it Out.

The BPA is awarded at Annual Conference to give recognition to members who have made exemplary contributions to their school or association or division’s work on equality and diversity.

Remember to nominate your candidate by 18 December 2016.

Regional/Wales offices should submit nominations via email to:

Criteria for nomination and how to nominate someone for the award.

To download a nomination form and flyer, please click here.

Blair Peach award

Baljeet Ghale, from the East London Division, awarded the BPA at Annual Conference 2016 for her outstanding work as a champion for diversity and equality at every level of the Union and in the wider community.

In school, she led an initiative celebrating diversity and challenging prejudice – one diversity at a time.  She has developed assemblies to celebrate the achievements of individuals. 

Baljeet featured in the JCWI campaign, ‘I am an Immigrant’, and her poster was seen in numerous places.

Over the years, Baljeet has been a role model for black members.  In school, she has challenged Ofsted and has used her school example to make sure that schools talk of ‘universal’ values.

2016 Nominees

Baljeet Ghale – Buckinghamshire (winner)
Daniel Kebede  – Gateshead
Tanveer Kauser Jan – Leeds
Pete Smith – Camden
Michael Dance – Redbridge

2015 Nominees

Juno Roche – Buckinghamshire (winner)
Michael Dance – Redbridge
Natalie Nicole – Bedfordshire
Susie Barrows – Hackney
Syma Effendi, Darren Crossdale and Sue Preston – Liverpool
Nick O’Brien – Norfolk

2014 Nominees

Sam Kirk – Bradford Association (winner)
Jan Hoggan – Tawe Afan Nedd

2013 Nominees

Richard Rieser – Hackney (winner)
Sam Kirk – Bradford
Jan Hoggan, Mark New, Julie Stapleton, Natasha Harry – Neath Port Talbot
John Illingworth – Nottingham City
Colin Foley – St Helens