Fred and Anne Jarvis Award

Nominations are now open for the 2017 Fred and Anne Jarvis Award

Each year since 2008, the National Union of Teachers has made an annual award to recognise the contribution of an individual, who is external to the Union, who has been involved in campaigning on a national or local educational issue.

The award pays tribute to the example and commitment to education shown by former NUT General Secretary, Fred Jarvis, and his wife, Anne Jarvis, a lifelong NUT member and former chair of the Education Committee for Barnet Council, who died in 2007.

The 2016 award was presented to children’s author Alan Gibbons for speaking up for teachers, children and education. During a prolific writing career, he has demonstrated a commitment to defending school libraries and to opposing the Government’s high-stakes accountability agenda, amongst many other issues.

Previous award winners include Ged Grebby, founder of Show Racism the Red Card; Michael Lees OBE for his work campaigning to remove asbestos from schools; Malala Yousafzai in recognition of her continuing campaign for all girls to have the right to an education; Margaret Tulloch for supporting comprehensive education; Fiona Millar, journalist and education campaigner; the former Children’s Laureate Michael Rosen who has campaigned against SATs; Professor Robin Alexander, for his work on the Cambridge Review of the Primary Curriculum; and Melissa Benn, state comprehensive education campaigner.

Criterion for the award
The award should be made to a person outside the union who has campaigned tirelessly on a national or local level on educational issues which are broadly in support of the NUT’s ethos and approach and accord with the example and commitment shown by Fred and Anne Jarvis.

Procedure and timetable
NUT members are invited to consider nominating a non-NUT member for the 2017 award by returning a nomination form. Members submitting a nomination should provide their own names, the names and contact details of their associations/division and the name and contact details of the person nominated. They must also provide a brief resume (maximum of 500 words) of the reasons for the nomination.

Click here to download the nomination form.

Nominations should be sent to Celia Dignan by email ( or by post: Celia Dignan, Education and Equality Section, APC, National Union of Teachers, Hamilton House, Mabledon Place, London WC1H 9BD.

Nominations close on 5 June 2017.

All nominations will be considered by the Education and Equalities Committee for final decision by the Executive in June 2017.

Teachers Building Society NQT mortgages
Gatsby Charitable foundation
Vauxhall Partners