The Fred & Anne Jarvis Award

26 March 2016

NUT Conference 2016

The Fred & Anne Jarvis Award

This year’s Fred & Anne Jarvis Award has been given to children’s author Alan Gibbons.

Many years ago, Alan plied his trade as a teacher and was a member of the NUT. Since then, in addition to a prolific writing career, Alan Gibbons has remained passionate about education. He has shown a long commitment to defending school libraries and to condemning the Government’s accountability agenda, amongst many other issues. In common with the NUT, Alan believes that reading and the pleasure of reading should be at the heart of learning.

The Fred & Anne Jarvis Award was established in 2008. It recognises the contribution of individuals, external to the Union, who have campaigned tirelessly on educational issues. The award is named after former NUT General Secretary, Fred Jarvis, and his wife, Anne Jarvis, a lifelong NUT member and former chair of the Education Committee for Barnet Council, who died in 2007. Previous winners of the award include Malala Yousafzai and Michael Rosen.

Christine Blower, General Secretary of the National Union of Teachers, the largest teachers’ union, said:

“This award recognises Alan Gibbon’s committed efforts to speak up for teachers, children and education, over many years. He is a familiar face on the education scene and shows great organisational skill in his campaign work with fellow authors. As a former primary teacher himself, Alan understands the pressures faced by the profession and recognises the dangers posed by freezes and cuts to funding. We celebrate his contribution today and look forward to collaborating with him on future campaigns.”

The NUT’s Annual Conference is taking place this Easter weekend in Brighton. For the Final Agenda, please click here.

Teachers Building Society NQT mortgages